BannerBanner
ERP Digitisation, ERP Implementation, ERP Sales, ERP Selection, ERP Technology

Evaluating the landscape of company-wide application systems

April 05, 2021 by Norbert Gronau

Evaluating the landscape of company-wide application systems

When a company undergoes a period of rapid growth or an M&A process, there is often an “accumulation” of application systems, whereby some of these “legacy” systems are able to handle new business processes better than others. This is especially prevalent in small and mid-sized companies. As a Trusted Advisor, I have to assess this landscape. Then, I have to identify and advocate for the necessary sequence of investments into new application systems.

An optimal approach to this task is to carry out an “adaptability analysis”. This method was developed approximately 15 years ago at the Universities of Munich and Potsdam and it provides an evaluation of the need for action, based upon various criteria. Initially, the analysis takes two criteria into account: Criterion one is the IT stack being used by the information system. Criterion two is the company’s ability to adapt this system to altered business scenarios.  

For the first criterion (“technical adaptability”), there is an evaluation catalogue which consists of about 70 questions. In essence, when all of these questions have been answered it should be possible for a software’s technical sustainability to be evaluated at all levels. 

To evaluate the second criterion, four key scenarios are defined in consultation with the system’s process owners. Importantly, these four key scenarios must lie outside of the business’ present scope of operations. Afterwards, a joint evaluation is carried out to ascertain which steps must be taken to achieve each key scenario in-house.

Once carried out, this adaptability analysis provides two key insights. Firstly, insight into the extent to which the company’s technology is outdated, and secondly, insight into the extent to which the company is capable of adapting its systems. Subsequently, a portfolio can be presented that shows, which systems need replacing first, which are outdated, and which cannot be easily adapted. Afterwards, individual decisions must then be made to determine the second wave systems.

This method ensures that an investment program for digital transformation always provides the company with a viable plan of action that can be achieved with a comparatively small investment volume. Another advantage of this method is that the results described here can be developed relatively quickly. This is especially relevant to small and medium-sized companies where proper systems documentation or even operational architecture management are often seriously underdeveloped.







Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Anbieterportal


alle Anbieter
Sharer Icon: facebookSharer Icon: TwitterSharer Icon: LindekInSharer Icon: XingSharer Icon: EnvelopeSharer Icon: Print
Banner

ERP-Marktführer
Herbst 2021

  • Umfassender Marktführer mit den 63 besten ERP-Systemen
  • Überblick über das sehr unübersichtliche Angebot auf dem deutschsprachigen ERP-Markt .
  • Vergleich der branchenübergreifenden Lösungen
  • Lösungen der Branchenschwerpunkte Handel, Dienstleistung und Fertigung 
  • Weitere Themenschwerpunkte sind ERP-Auswahl, Kostenfaktoren bei Systemeinführungen, Erfolgsfaktoren für ERP-Projekte sowie Robotic Process Automation. 

Bestellen

The European ERP Event

European elite event to take place in Frankfurt/Germany

Two-day conference on ERP trends with 3 major highlights:

  • Meet this year’s finalists for the European contest „ERP system of the year”!
  • Check whether your company needs an upgrade, a new ERP or major process improvements
  • Take advice from leading experts on Digital transformation, AI and ERP

Register now, limited seats!

Wir verwenden Cookies, um die Nutzererfahrung stetig zu verbessern. Mehr Erfahren.

We use cookies to constantly improve our users’ experience. Learn more.

Essentielle Cookies

Essential Cookies

Cookie Settings
Speichert Einstellungen, die hier getroffen werden. (1 Jahr)

Cookie Settings
Saves selected settings. (1 Year)

Statistik

Statistics

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Datenschutz
Cookie von Google für Website-Analysen. Erzeugt statistische Daten darüber, wie der Besucher die Website nutzt. Alle Informationen werden anonymisiert gespeichert. (2 Jahre)

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Privacy Notice
Cookie used by Google for web site analysis. Collects statistical data on how visitors use the website. This data does not contain personal information. (2 years)

ERP-Digitalisierung, ERP-Einführung, ERP-Betrieb, ERP Auswahl, ERP-Technologie

Bewertung der unternehmensweiten Anwendungssystem-Landschaft

April 05, 2021 by Norbert Gronau

Bewertung der unternehmensweiten Anwendungssystem-Landschaft

In einigen Unternehmen mit starkem Wachstum oder starker M & A-Tätigkeit haben sich häufig zahlreiche Anwendungssysteme „angesammelt“, die mehr oder weniger gut die aktuellen wertschöpfenden Geschäftsprozesse abdecken. Typischerweise, gerade im Mittelstand, besteht ein sehr starker Handlungsbedarf bei nahezu allen derzeit eingesetzten Systemen. Als Trusted Advisor muss ich die Anwendungslandschaft bewerten und eine Reihenfolge der Investitionen in neue Anwendungssysteme ermitteln und inhaltlich begründen.

 

Als Methode eignet sich dafür die sog. Wandlungsfähigkeitsanalyse. Sie wurde vor circa 15 Jahren an den Universitäten München und Potsdam entwickelt und ermöglicht es, nach verschiedenen Dimensionen den Handlungsbedarf einzuschätzen. Ausgangspunkt sind zwei Bewertungsdimensionen, der vom betrachteten Informationssystem genutzte IT-Stack einerseits und die Fähigkeit des Unternehmens, dieses System selbst an veränderte Geschäftsszenarien anzupassen andererseits. Zum ersten Kriterium, der so genannten technischen Wandlungsfähigkeit, existiert ein Kriterienkatalog mit circa 70 Fragen, der eine Einschätzung der technischen Zukunftsfähigkeit von Software auf allen Ebenen ermöglicht. 

 

Um die zweite Dimension zu bewerten, werden – in Abstimmung mit den Process Ownern des zu untersuchenden Systems – vier sinnvolle, aber außerhalb des derzeitigen funktionalen Scopes liegende Szenarien definiert. Anschließend wird gemeinsam bewertet, welcher Aufwand benötigt wird, um das jeweilige Szenario inhouse zu realisieren. 

 

Auf diese Weise erhält man zwei wesentliche Einsichten, einerseits in den Grad der technologischen Überalterung, zum anderen zu den Fähigkeiten der Organisation im Hinblick auf die Anpassbarkeit der Systeme. In einer Portfoliodarstellung angeordnet, müssen diejenigen Systeme als erstes ausgetauscht werden, die technisch veraltet sind und schlecht von der eigenen Organisation angepasst werden können. Um die Systeme der zweiten Welle zu bestimmen, sind dann individuelle Entscheidungen zu treffen.

 

Diese Methode stellt sicher, dass ein Investitionsprogramm zur digitalen Transformation das jeweilige Unternehmen stets handlungsfähig lässt und andererseits mit einem vergleichsweise geringen Investitionsvolumen bereits ein sehr großer Beitrag zur Zukunftsfähigkeit erreicht werden kann. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist, dass die hier beschriebenen Ergebnisse relativ schnell erarbeitet werden können. Gerade in mittelständischen Unternehmen sind Dokumentationen der eingesetzten Systeme oder gar Architekturmanagement als betriebliche Funktion nur sehr schwach ausgeprägt.







Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Anbieterportal


alle Anbieter
Sharer Icon: facebookSharer Icon: TwitterSharer Icon: LindekInSharer Icon: XingSharer Icon: EnvelopeSharer Icon: Print
Banner

The European ERP Event

European elite event to take place in Frankfurt/Germany

Two-day conference on ERP trends with 3 major highlights:

  • Meet this year’s finalists for the European contest „ERP system of the year”!
  • Check whether your company needs an upgrade, a new ERP or major process improvements
  • Take advice from leading experts on Digital transformation, AI and ERP

Register now, limited seats!

Wir verwenden Cookies, um die Nutzererfahrung stetig zu verbessern. Mehr Erfahren.

We use cookies to constantly improve our users’ experience. Learn more.

Essentielle Cookies

Essential Cookies

Cookie Settings
Speichert Einstellungen, die hier getroffen werden. (1 Jahr)

Cookie Settings
Saves selected settings. (1 Year)

Statistik

Statistics

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Datenschutz
Cookie von Google für Website-Analysen. Erzeugt statistische Daten darüber, wie der Besucher die Website nutzt. Alle Informationen werden anonymisiert gespeichert. (2 Jahre)

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Privacy Notice
Cookie used by Google for web site analysis. Collects statistical data on how visitors use the website. This data does not contain personal information. (2 years)