ERP Implementation

Success Factors for ERP Projects

Lesedauer: 8 Minuten

14. December 2020 von Felix Hasenbeck und Kilian Nickel

Success Factors for ERP Projects

The selection and implementation of an ERP system poses a major challenge for companies: In addition to the large quantity of vendors and systems, there are many possible approaches for project implementation. Some problems are particularly common, such as exceeding budget and time requirements. The problems are not always of a technical or organizational nature – the human factor also has a notable influence on the success of an ERP project. In the following, typical obstacles are highlighted and the associated success factors are presented. For executives and project managers, a good understanding of these correlations offers an optimal starting position to meet the challenges.

ERP systems are the heartbeat of modern corporate IT. An ERP selection and implementation thus resembles “open-heart surgery”. It inevitably means an enormous change for the company, since the work of many employees is affected. Negative impactsAffects on theto ongoing business operations should be minimized as much as possible. At the same time, the planning and implementation process nevertheless occupies binds internal capacities. It is almost always a future-critical, challenging, and expensive project.

The implementation of ERP is usually preceded by a longer selection phase. A fundamental challenge in the selection phase is that the ERP system must perform provide a large number of functions throughout various departments of the company. The number of requirements that are brought up during the performance specification is accordingly high. Furthermore, companies have unique aspects in their structure and process organization. The need to proceed in detail at this step in the process carries the risk of  too overloading the project with too many requirements overloading the project.

To complicate matters further, the ERP market is very diverse. Small and medium-sized companies in particular are spoiled for choice when it comes to selecting system and vendor. The larger the company, the smallermore the selection pool of systems that are ultimately viable to said company shrinks, since there are greater functional requirements to be fulfilled.

The technical aspects are only one part of the challenges. An ERP vendor will even try to fulfill requirements beyond the standard possible for a company. This is primarily a question of effort and cost. The human factor in the company is almost always more critical than the technology when it comes to the success of an ERP implementation. In addition to the project team, management and specialist area subject matter experts, the stakeholders also include other parts of the workforce. The decision as to which messages are communicated to which stakeholders is of paramount importance. It is not uncommon for stakeholders to have reservations or conflicts of interest, such as bad experiences fromon previous projects, which must be addressed. The ERP selection and implementation thus becomes a sociological and group-dynamical playing- field.  of sociology and group-dynamics.

Figure 1: Success factors and their frequency of mention from a sample of 74 companies [2].

Obstacles in ERP projects

The obstacles which face the project team faces can roughly be briefly divided into five categories:

  • The ERP system doesn‘t function work as expected. A suboptimal functionality can have technical reasons, such as inadequate hardware or an unsuitable software configuration. It is also possible is that the technology works, but the IT support in the company is not up to speed. In this case, either the requirements for the system have not been ascertained assessed precisely enough or the employees are insufficiently familiarized with the standard processes of the system.
  • The project takes longer than planned. This obstacle is often caused by an inadequate planning phase. Realistic benchmarks and the incorporation inclusion of buffers are essential for effective planning. Another possible reason can be insufficient boundaries to the project frameworkscope, which overloads the project with requirements that are not within its focus.
  • The project costs more than planned. The reasons for this obstacle are in fact usually the same as those for the project taking longer than planned.
  • The employees are dissatisfied. The reasons for dissatisfied employees are as diverse as the human psyche. A certain amount of dissatisfaction is almost unavoidable over the course of the project because an ERP project always engenders a significant disruption and change in everyday work. The effort invested in adjustingment does not bring satisfaction per se. Often, however, dissatisfaction in ERP projects has something to do with suboptimal communication, i.e.. the right messages are not being sent at the right time.
  • The executives are dissatisfied. This group has a prominent position in ERP projects. The reason for dissatisfaction is often a lack of understanding regarding one‘s own role. This too can be attributed to poor communication.

Although the reasons listed above are not exhaustive, they provide a guide for analyzing the obstacles.

The seven success factors

The range of possible countermeasures is almost infinite. However, there are certain success factors which address the aforementioned obstacles. This question has also been dealt with extensively in the literature [1]. A survey by Fraunhofer IAIS [2] among 74 German companies shows the distribution of the most important success factors shown in Figure 1. The most frequently mentioned factors include good project management (33.8%), communication with all specialist departments (23%), support from management (23%) and avoidance of customizing (13.5%).

Based on the survey and experience from ERP projects at Fraunhofer IAIS, seven key success factors are identified:

  • Clear Thorough planning: Before making a selection, an analysis of the current situation and the requirements must be performed. The project phases must be planned thoroughly at the beginning and a program management system set up for control.
  • Avoid customizing: The company‘s processes must adapt to the standards of the system. Customizing should be avoided wherever possible and should only be carried out where it strengthens the company‘s unique selling points on the market.
  • Allow spacefreedom: The ERP vendor should be given freedom in the methodology, planning and implementation of the ERP implementation, especially in regards to training.
  • Precise fit of the ERP vendor: The ERP vendor must present its project team to the company and fit the company in terms of philosophy, personnel and working methods.
  • Test run: Central functions should be tried out in a test system before selection. The use of the system should be assessed by reference customers. Important properties of a system (performance, usability) can only be assessed by trial and improvement.
  • Drive from abovethe top: The management must be in favour of and be the driving force behind the ERP implementation. This positivity must be communicated to the employees repeatedly.
  • A steep path: The management and the project team must be aware that the implementation will cost blood, sweat, tears and a lot of money. Resistance must be minimized at an early stage through change management.

Depending on which obstacle occurs in the course of the project, the project team should focus on the appropriate success factors. Figure 2 makes it clear that there are three factors which address hard, quantifiable obstacles (non-functioning ERP system, extended project duration, increased project costs). “Clean Thorough planning” is part of the basic craft of every good project manager and can be learned. The success factors “avoid customizing” and “allow spacefreedom” are a question of the basic attitude towards the ERP system and vendor. They can prevent excessive additional costs from being caused by a strong adaptation of the system or the implementation partner being influenced too much in their tried and tested approach.

Figure 2: Assignment of success factors (columns) to obstacles (rows).

Three other success factors should be emphasized. Although rather soft and difficult to quantify, these obstacles may arise in the project (dissatisfaction among employees and management). The “precise fit of the ERP vendor” and the “test driverun” can be best ensured through a careful and well-considered selection process. The “drive from the topabove” is essential, because an ERP project and the resulting expenses must always be borne by the management.

The “steep path” success factor may seem trivial. However, it can significantly galvanize the organization when it is explicitly clear that an ERP project is never easy. Thoughtful change management is necessary even in an organization that has a receptive attitude towards a new ERP system.

Summary and conclusion

An ERP selection and implementation is always a major challenge for a company. The bad news is that problems and obstacles during such a project are virtually inevitable. The good news is that these barriers can be counteracted. The first step is to foresee the expected obstacles. The second step is to analyze the reasons for these obstacles. In the third step, the appropriate countermeasures must be formulated and implemented. At Fraunhofer IAIS we rely on seven success factors that should be emphasized depending on the obstacle. This can never replace an individual analysis for the company. However, using these success factors as a point of orientation helps to define the correct framework, from which the project can succeed.

Open Access: https://doi.org/10.30844/ERP_20-4_39-41

 

 

 

 

Change ManagementERP SystemsERP selectionERP-Einführung


[1] Leyh, 2014. „Which Factors Influence ERP Implementation Projects in Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises?“ 20th Americas Conference on Information Systems. Savannah, 2014. 

[2] Nickel et al., 2020. „Wie eine ERP-Einführung gelingt. Einflussfaktoren und Maßnahmen aus Unternehmenssicht.“ Fraunhofer IAIS (Hg.).




Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Anbieterportal


alle Anbieter
Sharer Icon: facebookSharer Icon: TwitterSharer Icon: LindekInSharer Icon: XingSharer Icon: EnvelopeSharer Icon: Print

Wir verwenden Cookies, um die Nutzererfahrung stetig zu verbessern. Mehr Erfahren.

We use cookies to constantly improve our users’ experience. Learn more.

Essentielle Cookies

Essential Cookies

Cookie Settings
Speichert Einstellungen, die hier getroffen werden. (1 Jahr)

Cookie Settings
Saves selected settings. (1 Year)

Statistik

Statistics

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Datenschutz
Cookie von Google für Website-Analysen. Erzeugt statistische Daten darüber, wie der Besucher die Website nutzt. Alle Informationen werden anonymisiert gespeichert. (2 Jahre)

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Privacy Notice
Cookie used by Google for web site analysis. Collects statistical data on how visitors use the website. This data does not contain personal information. (2 years)

ERP-Einführung

Erfolgsfaktoren für ERP-Projekte

Lesedauer: 7 Minuten

14. Dezember 2020 von Felix Hasenbeck und Kilian Nickel

Erfolgsfaktoren für ERP-Projekte

Eine ERP-Auswahl und -Einführung stellt Unternehmen vor eine große Herausforderung: Neben der Vielzahl von Anbietern und Systemen existieren viele verschiedene Vorgehensweisen für die Projektdurchführung. Einige Probleme treten besonders häufig auf, wie beispielsweise eine Überschreitung von Budget- und Zeitvorgaben. Nicht immer sind die Probleme technischer oder organisatorischer Natur – auch der Faktor Mensch hat einen nicht zu vernachlässigbaren Einfluss auf den Erfolg eines ERP-Projekts. Im Folgenden werden die typischen Hindernisse beleuchtet und die dazugehörigen Erfolgsfaktoren vorgestellt. Für Führungskräfte und Projektmanager bietet ein gutes Verständnis dieser Zusammenhänge eine bessere Ausgangslage, um den Herausforderungen zu begegnen.

ERP-Systeme sind die Herzstücke einer modernen Unternehmens-IT.  Eine ERP-Auswahl und -Einführung gleicht damit  „einer OP am offenen Herzen“. Sie bedeutet immer einen enormen Wandel für das Unternehmen, da die Arbeit von vielen Mitarbeitenden betroffen ist. Der laufende Geschäftsbetrieb soll dabei möglichst wenig beeinträchtigt werden. Gleichzeitig bindet die Planung und Einführung jedoch interne Kapazitäten. Es handelt sich fast immer um ein zukunftskritisches, herausforderndes und teures Projekt. 

Der ERP-Einführung geht in der Regel eine längere Auswahlphase voraus. Eine grundsätzliche Schwierigkeit der Auswahlphase ist es, dass ERP-Systeme sehr viele Funktionen mitbringen, die in verschiedenen Abteilungen des Unternehmens genutzt werden. Die Anzahl an Anforderungen, die somit bei der Leistungsbeschreibung zum Tragen kommen, ist entsprechend hoch. Hinzu kommt, dass Unternehmen verschiedene Eigenheiten in ihrer Aufbau- und Ablauforganisation aufweisen. Der Anspruch, hier auf der Prozessebene detailliert vorzugehen, birgt die Gefahr einer Anforderungsexplosion und einer Überladung des Projektes. 

Erschwerend kommt hinzu, dass der ERP-Markt sehr divers aufgestellt ist. Gerade kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen haben sprichwörtlich die Qual der Wahl bei System und Anbieter. Je größer ein Unternehmen ist, desto weniger Systeme kommen letztendlich in Frage, um den größeren Funktionsanspruch bedienen zu können. 

Die technischen Aspekte sind nur ein Teil der Herausforderungen. Ein ERP-Anbieter wird versuchen, auch Anforderungen jenseits des Standards für ein Unternehmen möglich zu machen. Dies ist primär eine Frage von Aufwand und Kosten. Kritischer als die Technik ist fast immer der Faktor Mensch im Unternehmen, wenn es um den Erfolg einer ERP-Einführung geht. Zu den Stakeholdern gehören neben dem Projektteam, der Geschäftsleitung und den Fachbereichsexperten auch weitere Teile der Belegschaft. Der Entscheidung, welche Botschaften an welche Stakeholder kommuniziert werden, kommt eine hohe Bedeutung zu. Nicht selten existieren Vorbehalte oder Interessenskonflikte unter den Stakeholdern, z. B. aufgrund von schlechten Erfahrungen mit Vorgängerprojekten, mit denen umgegangen werden muss. Die ERP-Auswahl und -Einführung wird damit zum soziologischen und gruppendynamischen Spielfeld.

Hindernisse in ERP-Projekten

Die Hindernisse, mit denen sich das Projektteam konfrontiert sieht, können verkürzt in fünf Kategorien eingeteilt werden:

  • Das ERP-System funktioniert nicht wie erwartet. Eine suboptimale Funktionsweise kann technische Gründe haben, z. B. unzureichende Hardware oder eine ungünstige Softwarekonfiguration. Es kann aber auch sein, dass die Technik zwar funktioniert, aber die IT-Unterstützung in den Unternehmensprozessen nicht so ist wie erwartet. In diesem Fall sind entweder die Anforderungen an das System nicht präzise genug erhoben worden oder die Mitarbeitenden lassen sich zu wenig auf die Standard-Prozesse des Systems ein.
  • Das Projekt dauert länger als geplant. Dieses Hindernis ist häufig dadurch begründet, dass in der Planungsphase nicht sauber gearbeitet wurde. Realistische Vergleichswerte und die Einplanung von Puffern sind für eine valide Planung essentiell. Ein weiterer möglicher Grund kann eine fehlende Abgrenzung des Projektrahmens und damit die Überladung des Projektes mit Anforderungen sein, die nicht in seinem Fokus liegen.
  • Das Projekt kostet mehr als geplant. Die Gründe für dieses Hindernis sind de facto die gleichen wie die einer verlängerten Dauer.
  • Die Mitarbeitenden sind unzufrieden. Die Gründe für unzufriedene Mitarbeitende sind so vielfältig wie die menschliche Psyche. Ein gewisses Maß an Unzufriedenheit ist im Laufe des Projektes fast nicht zu vermeiden. Ein ERP-Projekt bedeutet immer eine signifikante Beeinträchtigung und Veränderung des Arbeitsalltages. Dieser Anpassungsaufwand macht per se nicht glücklich. Häufig hat Unzufriedenheit in ERP-Projekten jedoch etwas mit einer suboptimalen Kommunikation zu tun. Es werden nicht die richtigen Botschaften zur richtigen Zeit gesendet.
  • Die Führungskräfte sind unzufrieden. Diese Gruppe hat in ERP-Projekten eine hervorgehobene Stellung. Der Grund für Unzufriedenheit ist häufig ein fehlendes Verständnis für die eigene Rolle. Dies kann auf eine mangelhafte Kommunikation zurückgeführt werden.

Obwohl die gelisteten Gründe nicht erschöpfend sind, geben Sie eine Orientierungshilfe für die Analyse der Hindernisse.

Die sieben Erfolgsfaktoren

Der Katalog von möglichen Gegenmaßnahmen ist fast unendlich groß. Es gibt jedoch einige Erfolgsfaktoren, die die genannten Hindernisse adressieren. Diese Frage wurde auch in der Literatur umfangreich behandelt [1]. Eine Erhebung von Fraunhofer IAIS [2] unter 74 deutschen Unternehmen ergibt die in Bild 1 gezeigte Verteilung der wichtigsten Erfolgsfaktoren. Zu den meist genannten Faktoren zählen gutes Projektmanagement (33,8 %), Kommunikation mit allen Fachabteilungen (23 %), Unterstützung durch die Geschäftsführung (23 %) sowie Vermeidung von Customizing (13,5 %).

Ausgehend von der Erhebung und Erfahrungen aus ERP-Projekten des Fraunhofer IAIS werden sieben zen-trale Erfolgsfaktoren abgeleitet:

  • Sauber planen: Vor der Auswahl muss eine Analyse der Ist-Situation und der Bedarfe durchgeführt werden. Die Projektphasen müssen zu Beginn geplant und ein Programmmanagement zur Steuerung aufgesetzt werden. 
  • Customizing vermeiden: Prozesse des Unternehmens müssen sich an die Standards des Systems anpassen. Customizing ist wo immer möglich zu vermeiden und sollte nur dort durchgeführt werden, wo es die Alleinstellungsmerkmale des Unternehmens am Markt stärkt.
  • Freiräume lassen: Dem ERP-Anbieter sollten bei Methodik, Planung und Durchführung der ERP-Einführung, insbesondere bei Schulungen, Freiräume gelassen werden.
  • Passgenauigkeit des ERP-Anbieters: Der ERP-Anbieter muss sein Projektteam beim Unternehmen vorstellen und bezüglich Philosophie, Personal und Arbeitsweise zum Unternehmen passen.
  • Probe fahren: Zentrale Funktionen sollten vor der Auswahl in einem Testsystem ausprobiert werden. Der Einsatz des Systems sollte bei Referenzkunden begutachtet werden. Wichtige Eigenschaften eines Systems (Performance, Bedienbarkeit) lassen sich nur durch Ausprobieren einschätzen.
  • Antrieb von oben: Die Geschäftsführung muss die ERP-Einführung wollen und antreiben. Dieser Wille muss den Mitarbeitenden wiederholt kommuniziert werden.
  • Ein steiler Weg: Der Geschäftsführung und dem Projektteam muss klar sein, dass die Einführung Blut, Schweiß, Tränen und viel Geld kosten wird. Widerstände müssen frühzeitig durch Change Management abgebaut werden.

Abhängig davon, welches Hindernis im Projektverlauf auftritt, sollte das Projektteam den Schwerpunkt auf unterschiedliche Erfolgsfaktoren legen. Bild 2 macht deutlich, dass es drei Faktoren gibt, die harte, quantifizierbare Hindernisse adressieren (nicht funktionierendes ERP-System, verlängerte Projektdauer, erhöhte Projektkosten). Die „saubere Planung“ gehört zum Grundhandwerk jedes guten Projektmanagers und lässt sich lernen. Die Erfolgsfaktoren „Customizing vermeiden“ und „Freiräume lassen“ sind eine Frage der Grundeinstellung zum ERP-System und -Anbieter. Durch sie kann vermieden werden, dass zu hohe Zusatzaufwände durch eine starke Anpassung des Systems entstehen bzw. dass der Implementierungspartner in seiner erprobten Herangehensweise zu stark beeinflusst wird.

nickel2
Zuordnung von Erfolgsfaktoren (Spalten) zu Hindernissen (Zeilen). 

Drei weitere Erfolgsfaktoren sollten betont werden, wenn eher weiche, schwer quantifizierbare Hindernisse im Projekt auftreten (Unzufriedenheit bei Mitarbeitenden und Führungskräften). Die „Passgenauigkeit des ERP-Anbieters“ und das „Probe fahren“ können durch einen sorgfältigen und durchdachten Auswahlprozess bestmöglich sichergestellt werden. Der „Antrieb von oben“ ist fundamental, weil ein ERP-Projekt und die dadurch entstehenden Aufwände immer durch die Geschäftsleitung getragen werden müssen.

Der Erfolgsfaktor „Ein steiler Weg“ scheint möglicherweise trivial. Jedoch kann es die Durchhaltekraft der Organisation signifikant erhöhen, wenn klar ist, dass ein ERP-Projekt nie einfach ist. Ein wohl durchdachtes Change Management ist selbst bei einer Organisation, die einem neuen ERP-System positiv gegenüber steht, notwendig.

Zusammenfassung und Fazit

Eine ERP-Auswahl und -Einführung ist für ein Unternehmen immer eine große Herausforderung. Die schlechte Nachricht ist, dass Probleme und Hindernisse im Projektverlauf quasi nicht zu vermeiden sind. Die gute Nachricht ist, dass diesen Hindernissen entgegengewirkt werden kann. Der erste Schritt hierzu ist, sich bewusst zu machen, mit welchen Hindernissen gerechnet werden muss. Im zweiten Schritt muss es darum gehen, die Gründe für diese Hindernisse zu analysieren. Im dritten Schritt müssen die entsprechenden Gegenmaßnahmen formuliert und durchgeführt werden. Am Fraunhofer IAIS setzen wir auf sieben Erfolgsfaktoren, die je nach Hindernis betont werden sollten. Dies kann niemals eine individuelle Analyse für das Unternehmen ersetzen. Die Orientierung an den Erfolgsfaktoren hilft jedoch, die richtigen Rahmenbedingungen zu definieren, um das Projekt zum Erfolg zu führen. 

https://doi.org/10.30844/ERP_20-4_39-41

Change ManagementERP-SystemeERP-AuswahlERP-Einführung


[1] Leyh, 2014. „Which Factors Influence ERP Implementation Projects in Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises?“ 20th Americas Conference on Information Systems. Savannah, 2014. 

[2] Nickel et al., 2020. „Wie eine ERP-Einführung gelingt. Einflussfaktoren und Maßnahmen aus Unternehmenssicht.“ Fraunhofer IAIS (Hg.).




Das könnte Sie auch interessieren

Anbieterportal


alle Anbieter
Sharer Icon: facebookSharer Icon: TwitterSharer Icon: LindekInSharer Icon: XingSharer Icon: EnvelopeSharer Icon: Print
Banner

Neu: ERP 3/2022

Die vorliegende Ausgabe von ERP Management befasst sich mit der ERP-Implementation.  Lesen Sie hier, welchen Nutzen erfolgreiche Strategien der digitalen Transformation bringen.

Inhaltsverzeichnis

Leseprobe

JETZT bestellen!

The World of ERP in One Event!

The ERP competition of the year 2022

  • Meet the trendsetters in ERP – the best of the best and the most innovative
  • Intelligent solutions for the future – 11 winning categories
  • An independent jury with top-class digital and industry experts
  • Registration deadline ends June, 2022

Get your ticket now!

Wir verwenden Cookies, um die Nutzererfahrung stetig zu verbessern. Mehr Erfahren.

We use cookies to constantly improve our users’ experience. Learn more.

Essentielle Cookies

Essential Cookies

Cookie Settings
Speichert Einstellungen, die hier getroffen werden. (1 Jahr)

Cookie Settings
Saves selected settings. (1 Year)

Statistik

Statistics

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Datenschutz
Cookie von Google für Website-Analysen. Erzeugt statistische Daten darüber, wie der Besucher die Website nutzt. Alle Informationen werden anonymisiert gespeichert. (2 Jahre)

Google Analytics | Google LLC | Privacy Notice
Cookie used by Google for web site analysis. Collects statistical data on how visitors use the website. This data does not contain personal information. (2 years)